Sunday, 5 August 2012

Is Your Account or Computer Compromised?

Excerpt 4 Aug 2012: "If You See This Google Warning, Act Fast: Big Brother is Watching.."   

Do you know if your Account or Computer is being Compromised? If you see a warning at the top of your Gmail inbox, Google home page, or Chrome browser, stating: ...  do you know what to do?

 

"Google Also in the Privacy News

Beginning the first week of June, Google will warn you every time it picks up activity on your computer account that looks suspiciously like someone trying to monitor your computer activities. Google won't say how it figured out that state-sponsored attackers may be attempting to compromise your account or computer. But it's promised to let you know if it thinks Big Brother is tuned in to what you're doing.
As recently reported on the New York Times' blog6, the warning will pop up at the top of your Gmail inbox, Google home page, or Chrome browser, stating:
 "Warning: We believe state-sponsored attackers may be attempting to compromise your account or computer."
According to a Google blog post by Eric Grosse, VP of Security Engineering at Google7:
"If you see this warning it does not necessarily mean that your account has been hijacked. It just means that we believe you may be a target, of phishing or malware for example, and that you should take immediate steps to secure your account.
Here are some things you should do immediately: create a unique password that has a good mix of capital and lowercase letters, as well punctuation marks and numbers; enable 2-step verification as additional security; and update your browser, operating system, plugins, and document editors.
Attackers often send links to fake sign-in pages to try to steal your password, so be careful about where you sign in to Google and look for
https://accounts.google.com/        -      in your browser bar.
These warnings are not being shown because Google's internal systems have been compromised or because of a particular attack." "

Original: Go here to read more

Postnote: GMAIL:
It's best not to ignore the warning sign when it appears in your Gmail account. Follow the prompts and stay safe. And try out that 2-step verification - you'll have peace of mind. (This is a forgiving system as they will use other retrieval means should you not have your phone on you or if there is no telco network coverage. The same cannot be said of eg. FB where in most cases it will spell the loss of that FB account, often permanently. You will NOT be emailed even if you have registered several alternate, recovery emails with them!) - Simon

BTW, you will love Gmail's CONTACT system because adding new contacts is a one-click breeze where you do not have to exit your current screen. Further, two clicks is all that is needed to add contacts to a GROUP. It is also just as easy to create groups without leaving your Inbox ... and to HANGOUT with your groups!  Good job when it comes to versatility and ease of connecting with your list straight from the Inbox. (In this instance it is now a better feature than that found in eg. Yahoo, sadly to say, since they 'improved' their site).

What is your experience with your email provider?



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...